Copyright Heroes Past and Present

Designed and developed by Stuart Gradwell and Helen Robinson.

Heroes Past & Present



More Reading

Read More

May 1992


Yugoslavia consisted of 6 distinct areas; Bosnia/Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Slovenia. It shares
boundaries with Hungary and Romania and is separated from Italy by the Mediterranean Sea.

Where did it happen?

Why did it happen?

After the First World War these countries were bound together and following the Second World

War the Yugoslav Socialist Federation was formed. The Federation always volatile with a complex mix of individual cultures. Each area had a strong national identity but Yugoslavia was held together by President Tito.